June 12, 2011

hcwdjk hcwdjk
Lab Rat
12 posts

building Qt on 64bit Windows: “conversion from ‘size_t’ to ‘int’, possible loss of data”

I’m trying to build 64bit QtCore4.dll on Windows 7 using Visual Studio 2010. I have some experience developing on Linux, but I’ve never done it on Windows, so I’m kind of running blind here and proceed based on fragments of information I find on various websites… So I did this: I fired up “Visual Studio x64 Win64 Command Prompt (2010)”, navigated to the Qt source directory, from where I typed: “configure -fast -release” followed by “nmake”. It seemed to work, but I noticed a lot of the mentioned warnings like this one:

1. c:\users\piotrek\downloads\qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.3\include\qtcore\../
  2. ../src/corelib/tools/qvector.h(296) : warning C4267: 'argument' : conversion fro
  3. m 'size_t' to 'int', possible loss of data
  4.         c:\users\piotrek\downloads\qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.3\include\qt
  5. core\../../src/corelib/tools/qvector.h(296) : while compiling class template mem
  6. ber function 'QVector<T> QVector<T>::fromStdVector(const std::vector<_Ty> &)'
  7.         with
  8.         [
  9.             T=QPoint,
  10.             _Ty=QPoint
  11.         ]
  12.         c:\users\piotrek\downloads\qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.3\include\qt
  13. core\../../src/corelib/tools/qvector.h(796) : see reference to class template in
  14. stantiation 'QVector<T>' being compiled
  15.         with
  16.         [
  17.             T=QPoint
  18.         ]

When I tried using the resulting lib, I got a lot of random crashes.

Any thoughts how to solve this? Or maybe someone can send me or point me to a 64bit QtCore.dll (from Qt 4.7)?

Thanks in advance for any help.

10 replies

June 12, 2011

jim_kaiser jim_kaiser
Lab Rat
144 posts

Hi there,