December 1, 2011

m3rlin m3rlin
Lab Rat
2 posts

Parent/Child Forms

HI,

I am new to QT Qt(4) and very excited to begin programming. I have 6 years VB programming background and < 1 year C++.
I work on a Linux Box using QT Qt Designer and Gedit :)
I am getting into the C and QT Qt Jargon but I am having trouble finding the right documentation for several subjects.

My question: How do I program the following relationships in QT Qt/C++?

Form-A has a menu and a tool bar. When a menu-item is clicked I’d like Form-B to be displayed inside form-A. Form-B is a form hosting form-C, form-D, and form-E. (like in an HTML Frame where you load multiple .html files inside a mainform.html).

Please consider the following in your answer:

• I do not want to use MDI.
  • I really want to use a separate form for each layout and not 1 big main form with hiding panels and layouts
  • When opening multiple forms inside an opened form I need to be able to pass data (as delegate I guess) (in)between the forms. For example: A button click in form-D causes data to be loaded in form-E from a SQL database. Form-D and form-E are part of form-B. Form B was loaded inside form-A…

Thank you, you help is appreciated.

5 replies

December 1, 2011

fluca1978 fluca1978
Lab Rat
472 posts

I think you should implement each form as a separate widget and use a qstackedlayout [doc.qt.nokia.com] as the layout for the main window. In this way only one widget will be visible at a time.

December 1, 2011

Andre Andre
Robot Herder
6422 posts

You may also be interested in the convenient QStackedWidget.

To pass messages, delegates are not the way to go. A delegate is used for rendering content in an item view. Instead, you should read about using signals and slots [developer.qt.nokia.com] .