Qt Developer Network is moving to the Qt Project
Today we have important news for you: the Qt Developer Network is moving to the Qt Project.
We want the Qt Project to become a strong, central home for Qt on the web – and having Qt Developer Network join it will help greatly with this. We gave ownership of DevNet to the community from the start and moving it under Open Governance is the natural next step.
We are also convinced that it is important to keep Qt users and contributors together in one place and make sure everybody can find the information they need easily in one place.
We want you to join us in this exciting new phase for Qt DevNet and its community.
The Architect Version (tl;dr)
- Qt Developer Network changes domains and servers in the week of Feb 27th
- If you don’t want your account to be automatically moved with it, you will have to delete it before we move
- After the move you will have to accept the new terms or your account will be deleted automatically after three months
- More information and reminder messages will be sent over the coming weeks
The Detailed Version
From the week beginning February 27th onwards, the Qt Developer Network will be no longer hosted and fully controlled by Nokia but join the other openly governed pieces of infrastructure on qt-project.org. We will let you know about the exact date and time of the move when we are closer.
Step by step, we will open the editorial process to community contributions. We’re currently working on good ways to support this so sty tuned for more information.
We’re also looking at options to share relevant content between Nokia Developer and the Qt Developer Network. There is plenty of good Qt related material on both sides and we want to make sure that we can share it between the sites. We don’t know yet how we can achieve this, it’s very much in research state. Once we know more we will let you know.
What Does This Mean For You?
If you’d rather not have your account information transferred please delete your account before we undertake the move at the end of February. If you’re fine with having your account moved, you don’t have to do anything apart from accepting the new Terms and Conditions presented to you after we have switched domains.
If you decline the new terms your account will be deleted automatically.
We will send out reminder messages and updates over the coming weeks to keep you in the loop.
We’d love to hear from you! If you have any questions, concerns, or other comments, just drop us a line in the comment field.