Moving Qt DevNet - Update
We sent out a message some days ago informing you that the Qt Developer Network will soon change domains and move in under the Qt Project. In case you missed it, here is the blog [bit.ly] Below is some additional information about what is going to happen.
The Architect Version (tl;dr)
- All of Qt Developer Network will be read only while we move servers. We expect this to last approximately 3 hours.
- We will notify you of the exact time at least one day prior to the move.
- We will notify you again when we’re back.
- If you want to continue using Qt DevNet, you will have to accept new terms and conditions the next time you log in.
- If you don’t want your account to be moved to new hardware hosted by Gitorious, you have to delete it.
- Important: If you don’t do anything, your account will be automatically deleted after 3 months.
The Detailed Version
While we’re busy taking care of most stuff for you, there are some steps you need to in order to keep your account as it is today, including all the awesome badges and points you collected. You wouldn’t want to start over again, would you? ;)
Avoiding Open Heart Surgery (and Site Downtime)
The site will be cached as read-only during the move. This means that you can access all the information you need but can’t log-in or submit any content. We will broadcast (widely!) the date and time of the server move once we have a solid timeline for it. We’ll also stick a red banner on the site at the time, to remind you why you can’t log in. The move will be in week 9 if all goes to plan. Keep your fingers crossed!
Once we’re back, we will send out a final message to everybody, remove the banner and broadcast the news everywhere again. However, due to the huge number of emails we have to send, the cronjob taking care of it runs for more than 6 hours. It could happen that we’re back long before you get the message. Sorry for that, we couldn’t find a better way.
A New Hosting Entity
The new hardware we’ll be running our systems on is hosted by Gitorious and no longer by us. This is the reason why you will have to accept their terms and conditions after the move if you want to keep your account. Right after your first login you will be presented a window with the updated T&C in which you have to click either accept or decline. Declining the new terms will delete your account instantly. We do ask you if you’re sure before though, no need to panic.
If you do not agree to your account being moved to Gitorious hosted hardware you will have to delete it prior to the move. To do this, log-in on the site and go to edit profile [developer.qt.nokia.com] and click on “Delete me” in the left sidebar. After you confirm that this is really what you want, your account will be deleted. This does not affect the content (e.g. forum entries) you have created. It will stay visible under a different, anonymous account handle. The moment your account is deleted it cannot be restored. So be wise!
Important to Know
If you ignore all of the above, we will automatically delete your account 3 months after the move. You will get a reminder before the time runs out to make sure we don’t make mistakes.
As usual, we’d love to hear from you! If you have any questions, concerns, or other comments, just drop us a line below in the comments.